Modern Discipleship

Each Sunday, I spend a few hours at church around people who are “like me”. Depending on the week, I am either running the sound system, singing in one of a number of groups, or playing with our worship team. I have small conversations with other parents of little ones, sharing the joys and pains of the week and looking ahead to the next chance we will get to hang out. However, a growing suspicion in my mind keeps popping up: how “like me” are these people? How many of them do I even know what their occupation is? Go ahead, count off your own list. I didn’t even get past my first hand.

As Christians, we are commanded to make disciples; to involve ourselves in the lives of others for the betterment of all towards a common goal – to be more like Christ. How are we doing? I will be the first to admit it: miserably.

I came across the following article from Modern Reformation on discipleship that expresses what I think much better than I can usually articulate, so please take a moment to read it through:

I’m fascinated by the parts of the Bible that leave us to wonder what happened when the story is over. For example, how did the formerly demon-possessed man live after he moved out of the cemetery, gave up his chains, and returned to family and community? How did Lazarus live once he’d removed the wrappings? What was Zaccheus’s life like after he started giving the money back to those he’d robbed? And how did that prodigal son and his snarky older brother work out their future in their father’s house?

We can all speculate on what happened next because we know that something happened next, because we know something important about Jesus: he makes disciples. Christian faith and experience take on a form in the world. That form, which we call Christian discipleship, is the next chapter, the next act, the next destination in the ongoing experience of belonging to the living Christ.

(read more here)

Author: Damon

Disciple of Jesus Christ, Ambassador, Husband, Father.

Leave a Reply

