I am re-blogging this post as it is a great exegesis of one of the most commonly misused passages that I have come across.

 

Testifying To Grace

(This is an edited version of one of my Facebook posts. I figured that I would post it early on so that I can refer to it later. Sorry for the length but it could easily be much longer…)

I am sure that you are aware of this verse: “Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Now this is a classic example of a verse that is taken out of its context and misinterpreted, misapplied, and misused. Misinterpretation is a common side-affect to ‘out-of-context’ verses, so I want to show you what happens when you put it back into its context.

First, how it is misused. A preacher will normally be reflecting on some of the struggles that all humans face while living in this fallen world…

View original post 2,295 more words

Author: Damon

Disciple of Jesus Christ, Ambassador, Husband, Father.

Leave a Reply

